Rock the Parkway 10k race recap

April 2, 2011 – Rock the Parkway 10k
Bib 4257 Chip Time 1:15:42.1
Ran with: Dawn M.
1st 10K race

My race prep began Friday. I spent all day drinking lots of water. Friday night, we grilled chicken and asparagus on the grill and roasted some potatoes in the oven. I had friends over that night and played dancing games on the Wii. After our friends left, I organized all of my stuff for the morning. Laid out my clothes, got my hat, my Garmin, water bottles, breakfast etc all ready so that I could run on auto-pilot in the morning. I called it an early night and I went to bed about 10:15. About 5:37A.M., I woke up. My alarm was set to go off at 5:40 so I just went ahead and got up. I stumbled out of bed, slightly concerned that my legs were fatigued from a night of Wii dancing. I got dressed and grabbed my stuff I’d laid out the night before. At this point, my legs were just fine. No issues from the Wii. Whew! I grabbed my tuna sandwich and a banana and a bottle of water for the ride to Target in Gladstone to meet Dawn. I managed to eat my banana in the car. I took a bite of the tuna sandwich and chewed and chewed. I knew if I swallowed that bite, that it’d come right back up so I set it aside and figured I’d try to eat more later. Dawn and I met at target at 6:15AM and headed towards the race site. On the way, we talked about pacing and what I wanted to start at and what I wanted to finish at. We decided to go out at about a 13:00 pace for the first few miles and pick it up from there. My plan was to run each mile and walk for one minute. We arrived at Dawn’s office, conveniently located across from the Start/Finish line at about 6:45. We each took a bathroom break and I was able to eat my sandwich and have some more water. I put my timing chip on my laces and we decided to head towards the start about 7:20. Half marathoners started at 7:30. I felt good. I felt positive, well trained, and ready to go. I wasn’t nervous or anxious. I came prepared. I had a handheld bottle of Gatorade and Cherry flavor sport beans as race fuel. I ate a pack of sport beans around 7:20-:7:30 before we began. At 7:45, the 10k began. We walked to the starting line as the crowd slowly proceeded. Dawn had driven the course the day prior and said there wasn’t anything too disconcerting, but it was a rolling course with a few gradual longish hills. The course was an out and back course and the elevation map on the website showed it as gradual incline and the first half and a gradual decline coming back. The first mile was cold. The weather was partly cloudy in the low to mid 40’s when we started out. I had on capri’s, a tank top and my arm warmers. We hit mile one at about 12:33; A little bit faster than our 13:00 plan, but not too bad. Mile 1 was riddled with coats, hoodies, and cover ups that people had ditched as they warmed up. There weren’t a ton of spectators but the few that were on the course were very cheery and upbeat which helped. We hit aid station one and we took a short walk break so Dawn could grab some water. I continued to hydrate with my Gatorade throughout the course. Mile 2 came and went. 13:04. Right at our target. Somewhere in there, a lady was out of her car at a cross street on Ward Parkway yelling at a police officer because she was being inconvenienced by the road closure. We heard him yelling at her to get back in her car. This was definitely a highlight of the race. J Around the: 30 mark, I started eating some more sport beans. We hit mile 3 in another 13:07 minutes. Keeping steady. Around mile 3, there was the Iron Band playing music and a little more crowd support at this point. We were cruising up a hill and I was getting tired. We took our one minute walk break and I was ready to go again. We hit the turn around and started heading back to home, so to speak. Mile four was 12:01. Now we’re talking. I felt good. Energy levels were kicking. The weather was perfect. By this time, I’d ditched the arm warmers and tucked them into the waist of my pants. We aid station two and got a bit of water and kept on. At the one hour point, I ate more of my sport beans. Mile 5 came. 12:03. we’re holding steady and right where I want to be. I had 1.2 miles left and I was kicking! There was nothing notable along the course; several friendly people cheering us on, some cute dogs along the way, and wonderful people at aid stations handing out water and Gatorade. Nearing the end, I picked up the pace. We hit the last mile in 11:07. Holy smokes, I was on fire. No, really, my lungs were BURNING!! This was the only ‘uncomfortable’ time during the whole race. It was still tolerable, but I was pushing with all I had. I was running strong. I kept telling myself, I was almost done. I am strong. I’ve trained for this. Only a bit longer and then I’m done. My last .2 miles was done at a 9:48 pace. I crossed the finish line strong and happy at 1:15:42. My goal time was 1:20:00. I blew that out of the water. My second time goal was 1:15:00. I think it still counts if you’re in the same minute, right. 😉 I felt like I had enough energy and water throughout the race. I didn’t really think about it until afterwards, but I bet a good portion of my boost was from the caffeine in the sport beans. I don’t drink anything with caffeine anymore, so 150mg of it probably jump started my system. We walked around a bit after the race and drank some water and took a few pictures. We had some chocolate milk and I ate half a roll. I wasn’t at all hungry at this point. I felt good. I stretched out a bit at the car and we drove back to Gladstone. Later in the day, Luke and I stopped at Lowe’s. I’d bent down to look at something on the bottom shelf and couldn’t stand back up. My knees hurt so bad! When I got home, I iced them and just stayed off my feet. The next morning, my knees were 100%. No issues what-so-ever. My left quad is a bit stiff and I’ve got some mild soreness, but nothing too bad. Overall, I’m very happy with my time and I know I gave it my all. It was a very positive experience for my first 10k and I’m happy I did it. 4 months until NYC Triathlon!

This entry was posted in race. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

